My Favorite Time of the Year

The fall harvest is complete!!  Dennis and Patrick combined all of the corn this past weekend.  It is so very satisfying to see the semi loads of corn roll out the driveway on their way to storage.  Now corn-stalk round bales need to be made and the fall tillage will begin. 

There is quite a check list of work that still needs to be done on the farm.  1.  Finish the field work.  2.  Finish cutting wood for the outdoor wood burner.  3.  Finish the addition on the barn.  4.  Finish halter breaking the Denver heifers.  5.  Keep working on the bulls that are going to Rapid City, SD.  6.  Pack for NAILE.  Oh my, there’s a lot to do!! 

Dennis, Patrick and Hope will be heading to Louisville for NAILE.  Since I can’t travel that far in the truck I will stay behind to do chores and keep an eye on the cattle.  Hope will be showing her 2 fall heifers in the Junior Show.  The heifers are posted on the website if you’d like to see them.  They’re looking good and coming on strong.  I’m anxious to see how they do in Louisville.  I’ll be watching the show via the internet and wishing I were there.  While they’re gone I’m going to enjoy myself outside making some grape-vine wreaths and watch the fall calves run through the pasture with their tails in the air.  After all, fall is my most favorite time of the year!!

~ by dreamy280 on November 7, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
