Keeping an eye on things in the barn.

Has it really been one year since we last had to plow snow, treat sick calves, and deal with frozen waterers?  How would we know that it’s Winter without all of those things to contend with on the farm?!  Calving has already begun.  It is my favorite time of the year, and my least favorite time of the year.  If you calve out cows, you know what I’m talking about.  A few years ago Dennis installed a camera in the barn so we can keep an eye on cows that are ready to calve without having to trudge to the barn.  It is a handy thing to have!  While I’m making supper I can watch the progress of chores in the barn and know exactly when they will all be back in the house to eat.  Yesterday we had kept a cow in the barn because she was going to calve.  I used the camera to watch what was going on.  During chores I saw that the cow had started to calve, and I anxiously watched as Patrick carefully entered the pen, grabbed the front legs of the calf, and helped with the delivery.  Patrick tickled the calve’s nose with a piece of straw to get him to sneeze which would help him breath better.  It is reassuring to know that the kids have paid attention and learned what to do when a calf if born.  When Patrick got to the house I told him that he did a good job with his delivery.  In usual Patrick fashion, he replied, “I hate pulling calves, they’re slippery, and they don’t have handles!”

~ by dreamy280 on December 22, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
